site search
All Products
  • All Products
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/Tv
  • Actor
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artist
  • Artist (Lp Only)
  • Label
  • Song
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Title
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
Feelin' Free Book/ CD Set

Feelin' Free Book/ CD Set

  • By Eve Kodiak
  • Release 5/2/2006
  • Music Genre Children's
  • Media Format CD
Share Twitter
Add to cart
CD $47.98

Product Notes

Blast off to outer space! Be a fish, a bear, a marionette! Ride a dragon! Now the popular Feelin' Free CD comes with it's own book. Read the lyrics, see photos of children doing the movement, and enjoy anecdotes about the songs. And learn a little about the different movement modalities Feelin' Free explores: Brain Gym(R), Infant Reflexes, Dalcroze Eurhythmics, the Twelve Senses of Rudolf Steiner (founder of the Waldorf Curriculum), and others. You see, Feelin' Free is not just a collection of songs and stories for children to move to - all the movements are developmentally based. They have been specifically chosen to enhance sensory integration, fine and gross motor coordination, and cognitive processing. Reflex Rag is a ragtime exploration of infant reflexes - a universal, instinctual code of movement that triggers all developmental processes. (See Rappin' on the Reflexes for more information). Drink Some Water is four-part harmony foray into Brain Gym®, a movement alphabet for whole-brain learning. Sun Feels So Good ad apts some of principles of Rudolf Steiner's twelve senses into movement form. Magic Forest stories and Spaceship games implement the movement and music principles of Jacques Dalcroze. These narratives take children on journeys to outer space and through a magic forest, while piano improvisation creates the quality of sound that inspires children to move in new and challenging ways. They run and slap mosquitoes, walk and pick up rocks to throw. They climb trees and gallop on horseback, swim through rivers and create and human train. Matching movement quality to sound quality brings children to a new level of listening, awareness, and coordination. Rhythm Play, is an improvisatory speech and clapping game in 7/8 time, helps prepare children for the uneven meter of Feeln' Free. It also is a phenomenally integrating activity for brain and body, activating auditory processing and eye/hand coordination. Sun Feels So Good is a cumulative song, challenging the memory. And Lullaby is for downtime integration and resting. The songs are tuneful and catchy. Some (Drink Some Water, Rhythm Play, Feelin' Free, and Reflex Rag) are enhanced by children's voices. The piano accompaniment is complex and variegated in style and texture. Feelin' Free is a sure win with children of preschool and elementary school age. Eve Kodiak, M.M., is the kinesiologist/ creator of SOUND INTELLIGENCE, a new approach to learning. Her first CD/Book, Rappin' on the Reflexes, A Guide to Integrating the Senses Through Movement and Music, is being used by parents, practitioners, and teachers on five continents. Kodiak performs, holds workshops for adults and children, and has a private practice working with developmental issues on an individual basis. The songs and stories of Feelin' Free have been written over the past twenty years, and most have been road-tested under the most rigorous conditions: children's classes, crying babies, long car rides. Kodiak lives in the Monadnock region of New Hampshire with her husband, son, cat, dog, and piano. She relies upon her family, students, and colleagues, and the natural beauty around her for inspiration.


Artist: Eve Kodiak
Title: Feelin' Free Book/ CD Set
Genre: Children's
Release Date: 5/2/2006
Label: CD Baby
Media Format: CD
UPC: 634479674372
This product is a special order